Names

The past couple of weeks I have been doing this thing where I look up quotes and pick one inspirational one a day and decide to live my day based off that quote. The other day I was searching and saw one that had to do with names. “It ain’t what they call you it’s what you answer to”- WC Fields. This quote made me think of Mango Street and the main character Esperanza. Esperanza hates her name and feels it doesn’t fit her, her biggest insecurity is her name. However this quotes shows us that it isn’t the name that matters it is how people see you or in the quotes case what they “call you”. There is no reason that a name should be something someone is ashamed of. As the story goes on Esperanza matures and I hypothesize that she will learn to accept her name and maybe even learn to love it.hello-my-name

cc (turnlables.net)

Leave a Reply

